2010 Hall of Fame Inductees Include 1950 Football & 3-Time NAIA Pole Vault Champ

Individual inductees include Seville Broussard-Hering, Curt Hisaw, Abe Poffenroth and Bill Smithpeters, with Ernie Afaganis receiving Service & Contribution Award

CLICK HERE for a bios of each inductee, including photos
CLICK HERE for a .pdf version of the Hall of Fame Release, including bios 

A three-time national champion in the pole vault and the school’s 1950 Football Team are among those who will be inducted into the Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame in ceremonies that take place on Oct. 9, 2010, in Cheney, Wash.

The new inductees include the 1950 football team, which won Eastern’s third-straight Evergreen Conference championship and finished the year with five-straight shutouts to finish 8-2. The coach from that team, Albert Harold “Abe” Poffenroth, will be inducted posthumously.

Other individual inductees include track and field standouts Curt Hisaw and Seville Broussard-Hering, as well as former women’s basketball coach Bill Smithpeters. Former Eastern golfer and legendary Canadian broadcaster Ernie Afaganis will receive the Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame Service and Contribution Award.

Poffenroth was 32-19-1 as the school's head coach for six seasons from 1947-52, winning league championships four-straight seasons from 1947-50. As an Eastern quarterback in the late 30’s, Eastern was 24-7-1 in his four years, and he earned his bachelor's degree at Eastern in 1940.

Hisaw won three National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) titles in the pole vault (outdoors in 1969 and 1970, and indoors in 1970). He was a four-time All-American and set three NAIA records, and is still one of only seven Eastern athletes to ever clear 16 feet in the pole vault.

While competing at EWU from 1995-99 in the hurdles and high jump, Broussard-Hering scored more than 100 points and won five league titles for Eastern at Big Sky Conference Championship meets. She is now a professor of communication studies at Eastern, and, like Hisaw, resides in Cheney. She is married to Cheney High School Track and Field Coach Todd Hering, whose assistant coaches through the 2009 season included Hisaw and his wife, Joan.

Smithpeters won 290 games in 18 seasons as Eastern's women's basketball coach from 1977-1994. He led the Eagles to the 1987 Big Sky Conference Tournament title and a berth in the NCAA Division I Basketball Championship. Also, in his second season as head coach in 1977-78, Eastern advanced to the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) National Tournament and finished 24-9 overall.

Afaganis golfed at Eastern and graduated in 1952 before embarking upon a 50-year broadcasting career in Canada. He has been selected already to five halls of fame, including those of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Canadian Football League.

Established in 1996, this year’s inductees will bring the total number of individuals in the Hall of Fame to 53. Seven teams will have also been inducted, and Afaganis will be the fourth recipient of the Service and Contribution Award.

More information on the Hall of Fame may be found at: http://www.goeags.com/hallfame/hallfame

The inductees will be honored with a breakfast and ceremony that starts at 9:30 a.m. on Oct. 9 at the Pence Union Building. The public is invited to attend (RSVP to 509-359-2463 or 1-800-648-7697) and the cost is $15 per person.

They will also be honored at EWU’s football game against Northern Arizona that begins at 1:05 p.m. Pacific time.

Best Western PepperTree Inns of Washington (www.peppertreeinns.com) serves as sponsor of the event.

View: Mobile | Desktop