Luckenbach Defends Title in Hammer Throw in Utah

Six Eagles earn All-Big Sky Honors by finishing in the top three on the first day of the Big Sky Conference Championships

Senior Nicole Luckenbach defended her title in the hammer throw as the Eastern Washington University track and field team had an impressive showing on the first day of the 2010 Big Sky Conference / Weber State Credit Union Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Friday (May 14) in Ogden, Utah.

Besides Luckenbach, five other Eagles earned All-Big Sky honors by finishing in the top three in their respective events. In addition, 14 athletes advanced past Friday’s preliminaries and advanced to finals on Saturday’s final day.

In team scoring after Friday’s events, Eastern’s women are currently in third place with 35 points and the men are sixth with 31 points. Northern Arizona is leading the women with 43 points and Weber State’s men lead with a current score of 55.5.

Luckenbach defended her title with a throw of 190-5, well short of her school record of 199-8 set earlier this season. Teammate Emily Jacobsen finished sixth with a mark of 169-1 1/2.

Erica Chaney finished second in the discus with a mark of 146-5 3/4. Eastern had a 2-3 finish in the long jump, as Shene Davis finished second with a mark of 19-2 3/4 and Brianna Okoro placed third with a jump of 18-10 3/4.

On the men’s side, Aaron Mettler finished second in the javelin with a throw of 214-0. He was the two-time defending champion, winning last year with a mark of 219-8.

In the high jump, Adam Stewart finished third with a mark of 6-7 1/4 and Stephen Praast was sixth with a jump of 6-7 1/4.

David Howard finished fourth in the shot put with a mark of 53-10. In the long jump, Armand Hopkins finished fifth with a mark of 23-2 1/4.

Eagles who qualified for finals on Saturday included Steven Warner (14.96/110-meter hurdles), Sarah Frey (14.29/100m-hurdles and 1:01.24/400m-hurdles), Brad Wall (47.36/400m & 21.93/200m), Chad Butorac (48.13,/400m & 21.73/200m), Kyle Ulrey (48.81/400m), Brianna Okoro (12.18/100m and 24.46/200), Shene Davis (12.50, 100m), Whitney Leavitt (12.53, 100m and 24.82/200) and Ashley Stabl (1:02.74 100m-hurdles).

Of the 14 advancers, eight came on the women’s side with a trio of two-event qualifiers (Okoro, Leavitt and Frey), with Leavitt garnering the eighth and final spot in the finals by just .006 seconds. For the men, Wall had the top 400-meter time and joined Chad Butorac as advancers in both the 400 and 200.

View: Mobile | Desktop