Big Sky Top 50 List Adds Bo Levi Mitchell and Michael Roos

Walter Payton Award winner and Tennessee Titans All-Pro are Nos. 20 and 22, respectively, on list celebrating league’s 50th anniversary

Walter Payton Award winner Bo Levi Mitchell and Tennessee Titans All-Pro offensive tackle Michael Roos have been recognized among the best 50 male athletes all-time in the Big Sky Conference, the league announced Thursday (Dec. 5).

Mitchell is No. 20 on the list compiled by the league in celebration of its 50th anniversary, with Roos just behind him at No. 22. They bring to five the total number of former Eagles out of the 31 announced thus far.

Mitchell transferred to Eastern from SMU, then led the Eagles to the NCAA Division I Championship where he was named the Most Outstanding Player in the title game. Despite a 6-5 record in an injury-ravaged 2011 season, Mitchell won the Walter Payton Award given to the top player in FCS. He now plays for Calgary in the Canadian Football League.

Roos started his last 35 games at Eastern at offensive tackle to earn All-America honors and FCS Lineman of the Year accolades. He was drafted in the second round by Tennessee in the 2005 NFL Draft and has started every game he has played for the Titans. In fact, the 2008 All-Pro selection has a current streak of starting 214-straight games he has played, not including one game he missed in the 2012 season because of an appendicitis attack.

After 50 years of competition, the Big Sky Conference has begun a year-long journey celebrating the league's success both on and off the playing field by honoring 50 years of men's athletics and 25 years of women's athletics. The 50th anniversary will celebrate the all-time individuals, teams and moments in the Big Sky's history, including the selection of the league's Top 50 male student-athletes and the top 25 female student-athletes.

Along with the lists, the league is unveiling the most memorable moments for both men's and women's competition. Roos and Idaho State defensive end Jared Allen earning NFL All-Pro honors in 2008 is No. 30. Eastern’s 45-42 loss to Sam Houston State, in which the Eagles rallied from a 35-0 halftime deficit to nearly pull-off an improbable come-from-behind victory, is No. 37 on the top moments list. Previously, the three kickoff returns for touchdowns by Bashir Levingston against Sacramento State in 1998 was announced as moment No. 42.



Top 50 Athletes
#20 Bo Levi Mitchell (2010-11) - ‘11 Walter Payton Award Winner
#22 Michael Roos (2001-02-03-04) - All-American & FCS Lineman of the Year
#37 J.C. Sherritt (2007-08-09-10) - ‘10 Buchanan Award Winner
#39 Greg Peach (2005-06-07-08) - ‘08 Buchanan Award Winner
#47 Matt Nichols (2006-07-08-09) - EWU & Big Sky record 12,616 career yards and 96 touchdowns

Top 50 Moments
#30 Former Eagle offensive tackle Michael Roos and former Idaho State defensive end Jared Allen were both honored on the as NFL All-Pro selections in 2008.
#37 EWU 2013 Comeback vs. Sam Houston State, a 45-42 loss in the semifinals of the FCS Playoffs after trailing 35-0 at halftime
#42 Bashir Levingston’s 3 Kickoff Returns for TD vs. Sacramento State in 1998


Below are links to stories of the Top 50 Male Athletes and Top 50 Men's Moments. This week, numbers 50 through 45 are revealed on both lists.

Men’s Athletes & Moments #20-24 -

Men’s Athletes & Moments #25-29 -

Men’s Athletes & Moments #30-34 -

Men’s Athletes & Moments #35-39 -

Men’s Athletes & Moments #40-44 -

Men’s Athletes & Moments #45-50 -

View: Mobile | Desktop