Boyce, Peach and Alfred Earn All-America Honors

Dec. 12, 2007

The irony runs just as deep as the honors.

Sophomore wide receiver Aaron Boyce, junior defensive end Greg Peach and senior offensive guard Matt Alfred were named to the Associated Press NCAA Football Championship Subdivision All-America team that was released on Wednesday (Dec. 12).

Boyce, a 2005 graduate of Kentwood High School in Kent, Wash., was selected to the second team after catching 85 passes (second in school history) for 1,308 yards (fourth) and 10 touchdowns (eighth). He ranked sixth in FCS in receiving yards per game (100.6) and was 14th in receptions (6.5).

Also selected to the second team was Peach, who was 11th in FCS in sacks (0.85 per game) with a total of 11 that ranks as the fifth-best performance in school history. The 2005 graduate of Evergreen High School in Vancouver, Wash., will enter his senior season with 29 career starts and 17 1/2 sacks that ranks ninth in school history.

Selected to the third team was Alfred, a four-time All-Big Sky Conference selection who graduated from Gig Harbor (Wash.) High School in 2003. He closed his career with 46-straight starts and earned first team All-Big Sky honors twice (2007 and 2005) and second team accolades twice (2006 and 2004).

The ironic part of the honors starts with Boyce, who was mainly a basketball player in high school who played just one year of football at Kentwood. He and Rodney Stuckey helped lead Kentwood to the State 4A Basketball title in 2004. Stuckey went on to earn honorable mention All-America honors at Eastern in basketball both seasons he played for EWU, and is now a member of the Detroit Pistons in the NBA.

Alfred was coached the last five years by former EWU head coach Paul Wulff, who was named on Dec. 11 as the new head coach at Washington State University. Wulff will now get to coach Matt Alfred's younger brother Kenny Alfred, who starts on the offensive line for the Cougars.



AP FCS All-America Team



Quarterback - Ricky Santos, senior, 6-foot-2, 215 pounds, New Hampshire.

Running backs - Omar Cuff, senior, 5-10, 195, Delaware; Jayson Foster, senior, 5-9, 164, Georgia Southern.

Wide receivers - Ramses Barden, junior 6-6, 228, Cal Poly; Terrell Hudgins, junior, 6-2, 226, Elon.

Linemen - Kerry Brown, senior, 6-6, 290, Appalachian State; Chad Rinehart, senior, 6-5, 310, Northern Iowa; Mitch Erickson, senior, 6-6, 290, South Dakota State; Brennan Carvalho, 6-1, 310, senior, Portland State; Demetrius Bell, senior, 6-5, 263, Northwestern State.

Tight end - Blake Martin, senior, 6-3, 235, Sam Houston State.

All-purpose player - Jeremy Gilchrist, junior, 5-10, 174, Hampton.

Kicker - Jon Striefsky, junior, 6-1, 185, Delaware.


Linemen - Kroy Biermann, senior, 6-3, 241, Montana; Eric Bakhtiari, senior, 6-4, 260, San Diego; Bryan Smith, 6-2, 230, McNeese State; Brian Johnston, 6-5, 280, Gardner-Webb.

Linebackers - Bobby Daly, senior, 6-1, 215, Montana State; Brian Bradford, senior, 6-2, 235, Towson; Brannon Carter, senior, 6-3, 233, Northern Iowa.

Defensive backs - Tony LeZotte, senior, 6-0, 200, James Madison; Corey Lynch, senior, 6-0, 205, Appalachian State; Bobbie Williams, senior, 6-1, 210, Bethune-Cookman; Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, senior, 6-2,

180, Tennessee State.

Punter - Chris MacDonald, senior, 6-4, 215, Texas State.




Quarterback - Josh Johnson, senior, San Diego.

Running backs - Tim Hightower, senior, Richmond; Tyler Roehl, junior, North Dakota State

Wide receivers - Eddie Cohen, senior, Western Carolina; Aaron Boyce, sophomore, Eastern Washington

Offensive linemen - Nate Safe, senior, North Dakota State; Matt Austin, senior, Massachusetts; Jesse Padilla, senior, Lafayette; David Hale, senior, Weber State; Brad Samsa, junior, Youngstown State.

Tight end - Matt Champa, senior, Dayton.

All-purpose player - Larry Shipp, senior, Tennessee Tech

Kicker - Dan Carpenter, senior, Montana.


Defensive line - Kendall Langford, senior, Hampton; Rudolph Hardie, senior, Howard; Jovan Belcher, junior, Maine; Greg Peach, junior, Eastern Washington.

Linebackers - Mike Gallihugh, senior, Colgate; Zach East, senior, Prairie View A&M; Jason Williams, junior, Western Illinois.

Defensive backs - Kareem Brown, senior, Nicholls State; Derrick Huff, senior, Eastern Kentucky; LaDarius Webb, junior, Nicholls State; Al Donaldson, junior, Alabama A&M.

Punter - Benjamin Dato, senior, Fordham.




Quarterback - Eric Sanders, senior, Northern Iowa.

Running backs - Herb Donaldson, junior, Western Illinois; Mike McLeod, senior, Yale.

Wide receivers - Tremayne Kirkland, senior, Portland State; Andre Roberts, freshman, Citadel.

Linemen - Mike Byrne, senior, Delaware; Stephen Field, junior, Cal Poly; Matt Alfred, senior, Eastern Washington; James Lee, senior, South Carolina State; Brandon Keith, senior, Northern Iowa.

Tight end - Clay Harbor, sophomore, Missouri State.

All-purpose player - J.T. Rogan, junior, San Diego.

Kicker - Gavin Halliford, junior, Jacksonville State.


Linemen - Marcus Dixon, senior, Hampton; Pierre Walters, junior, Eastern Illinois; Robert Brown, junior, Wagner; Gary Tharrington, sophomore, Appalachian State.

Linebackers - Joe Mays, senior, North Dakota State; Jason Hatchell, senior, Massachusetts; Ronnie McCullogh, senior, Bethune-Cookman.

Defensive backs - Steven Williams, senior, Harvard; Tyler Koch, senior, South Dakota State; David Hyland, junior, Morehead State; K.J. Gerard,

junior, Northern Arizona.

Punter - Tyler Johnson, senior, Montana.


View: Mobile | Desktop